Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Edgecomb Student, Jimia Stetson, wins poster contest!
Edgecomb Student, Jimia Stetson, wins poster contest!
Evelyn Andrews
Thursday, March 07, 2019

Knox-Lincoln Soil & Water Conservation District is pleased to announce – and congratulate – the winners of the annual conservation poster contest. This program is part of the National Association of Conservation Districts’ contest, which each year sets a national stewardship theme. Rebecca Jacobs, KLSWCD program manager, presented a lesson on this year’s theme, Life in the Soil: Dig Deeper. to over thirty K-6 grade classrooms throughout Knox and Lincoln counties.

We greatly appreciate the enthusiasm, knowledge, and support of this year’s judges – Sharon Chadwick, District Supervisor; and BJ Dobson, District Volunteer – who evaluated more than 300 posters on content, visual effectiveness, originality, and universal appeal to select the winners.

The following three grade-category winners will be entered into the state competition. Each of these students received a $25 gift certificate to Flatbread Pizza, where the District will hold an Environmental Education Fundraiser and Poster Contest Gallery on March 12:

Grades 4-6: Alyssa Giverdon (Grade 5), Thomaston Grammar School

Grades 2-3: Aisley King (Grade 3), South School

Grades K-1: Jimia Stetson (Grade 1), Edgecomb Eddy School

The judges also selected a winner from every classroom that submitted entries:

Appleton Village School: Manny Mosheyev (5th)

Ash Point Community School: Alivia Hall-Harrington (2nd)

Edgecomb Eddy School: Jimia Stetson (1st)

Hope Elementary School: Tucker Mank (1st), Maggie Curtis (2nd), Kaley Lincoln (3rd), Oliver Wight (4th)

Miller School: Mariella LaBombard (2nd)

South Bristol School: Sabrina Siders (K), Helena Bigonia (2nd)

South School: Zane Montgomery (2nd), Aisley King (3rd), Gabriella DeStefano (5TH)

Thomaston Grammar School: Alyssa Giverdon (5th)

Union Elementary School: Emilee Cook (K), Liza Esancy (2nd), Payton Conway (5th)

Wiscasset Elementary School: Devon Roy (3rd)

Honorable mentions were awarded to: Gavin Campbell, Rowan Stewart, Mallory Watkinson, Olive Tomko, Isla Hancox, Eliza Gallant, Aubrey Sylvester, Matilda Stewart, Helena Leavitt, Atalanta Roberts, Thea Laukka, Alanna Smith, Grace Bickford, Tabitha McGregor, Baileigh Hooper, Vincent Frisone, Pedro Adorno, Ava Curtis, Oscar Barnes, Franklin Whytock, Hayden Libby, Aiden Beardsley, Kamryn Snell, Skyler Spoffurd, and Gabriel Wood.

Knox-Lincoln Soil & Water Conservation District congratulates all the winners and commends all the students for their efforts. For the complete list of winners and pictures of category winners, please visit For more information about this and other District programs, please contact Rebecca Jacobs at or (207) 596-2040. Knox-Lincoln SWCD is an equal opportunity employer and provider.